Eleven Volvo car models from the S60, V60, XC40, XC60 and XC90 product lines have earned five stars, the highest possible safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s New Car Assessment Program for 2021. The 5-Star Safety Ratings Program provides consumers with information about the crash protection and rollover safety of new vehicles beyond what is required by Federal law.  NHTSA conducts frontal, side and rollover tests because these types account for the majority of crashes on America's roadways. Ratings are determined in part by evaluation of injury to the head, chest, abdomen, lower spine and pelvis in these dynamic tests. The rollover resistance rating is based on an at-rest laboratory measurement known as the Static Stability Factor (SSF) that determines how “top-heavy” a vehicle is, and the results of a driving maneuver that tests whether a vehicle is vulnerable to tipping up on the road in a severe maneuver. 

Volvo has a long history as a leader in passenger vehicle safety innovation. In 1959 the company introduced the three-point safety belt, one of the most important pieces of safety equipment ever invented. Since then Volvo has introduced many more world firsts in safety, including the Rearward-facing child seat (1972), Side Impact Protection System (1991), the Inflatable Curtain (1998), Pedestrian Detection with Full Auto Brake (2010) and more. It is estimated these innovations have saved more than one million lives.  The Volvo models earning 5-Star safety ratings are:

  • 2021 Volvo S60 T5
  • 2021 Volvo S60 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo V60 T5
  • 2021 Volvo XC40 T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo V60 T5 AWD Cross Country
  • 2021 Volvo XC40 T4
  • 2021 Volvo XC60 T5 / T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC60 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 T5 / T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 Recharge T8 eAWD