The 87th running of the grueling Le Mans 24 hours race ended with TOYOTA GAZOO Racing taking a one-two victory at the Circuit de la Sarthe following a dramatic final hour of the 2018-2019 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) season.    Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso, in the #8 TS050 HYBRID, defended their Le Mans crown and secured the drivers' World Championship in the process, winning by 16.9secs from team-mates Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José María López in the #7.

The privateer team of American owner/driver Ben Keating overcame a late-race penalty and a strong challenge from Joerg Burgmeister in a Porsche 911 RSR to score a class win for the Ford GT in its customer racing debut.