It has been over a year since the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) urged vehicle owners to immediately act on a recall notice that would replace defective Takata airbags. According to NHTSA over seven million vehicles were involved in the recall. That recall included certain vehicles made by BMW, Chrysler, Ford, General Motors, Mazda, Honda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru and Toyota. It especially affected vehicle owners in regional areas of Florida, Texas, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Louisiana and Hawaii to respond immediately.

Last week NHTSA announced the 9th U.S. fatality caused by a ruptured Takata air bag inflator, which lead to additional vehicle recalls. According to the incident involved a 2006 Ford Ranger in South Carolina late December. Because of the incident, Takata has announced that certain SDI-model driver-side inflators are defective. NHTSA has also announced that Takata has declared certain PSDI-5 model inflators defective. This development came to light after the rupture of three of those inflators that were recovered during a Toyota recall. NHTSA believes that the expanded recalls will affect nearly 5 million vehicles made by Audi, BMW, Daimler Vans, Ford, Honda, Mazda, Mercedes Benz, Saab and Volkswagen. A more updated list of affected makes, models and model years will be made available as soon as NHTSA receives the information from affected automakers.

NHTSA has received the list of vehicles from Ford that are affected by the recent expansion of the Takata air bag recalls. Vehicle identification numbers (VINs) included in these recalls are now available on NHTSA’s VIN look-up tool or the manufacturer’s website. If your vehicle is included in this recall, follow up with the manufacturer to get interim guidance.

Below is an updated list of vehicles affected by the Takata recall as of December 23, 2015.


2000 328i
2001-2006 M3
2002-2003 M5
2000 323i 
2002-2006 325Ci
2002-2006 330Ci
2002-2003 325iT 
2002-2003 325XiT 
2001-2006 325i 
2001-2005 325Xi 
2001-2006 330i 
2001-2005 330Xi 
2002-2003 525i 
2002-2003 530i 
2002-2003 540i 
2003 X5 3.0i 
2003 X5 4.4i

FCA (Chrysler):

2007-2008 Chrysler Aspen
2005-2010 Chrysler 300
2005-2010 Chrysler 300C
2005-2010 Chrysler SRT8
2008-2010 Dodge Challenger
2006-2010 Dodge Charger
2005-2011 Dodge Dakota
2004-2008 Dodge Durango 
2005-2008 Dodge Magnum 
2003-2009 Dodge Ram 1500 
2003-2009 Dodge Ram 2500 
2003-2009 Dodge Ram 3500 
2008-2010 Dodge Ram 4500 
2008-2010 Dodge Ram 5500

Daimler Trucks North America:

2008-2009 Sterling Bullet 4500
2008-2009 Sterling Bullet 5500

Daimler Vans USA LLC:

2007-2008 Dodge Sprinter 2500 
2007-2008 Dodge Sprinter 3500
2007-2008 Freightliner Sprinter 2500 
2007-2008 Freightliner Sprinter 3500 


2004-2006 Ranger 
2005-2006 GT
2005-2014 Mustang

General Motors (GM):

2007-2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 
2007-2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 
2007-2008 GMC Sierra 2500 
2007-2008 GMC Sierra 3500
2003-2007 Pontiac Vibe
2005 Saab 9-2x


2001-2007 Accord 
2001-2005 Civic
2003-2005 Civic Hybrid 
2001-2004 Civic CNG
2002-2006 CR-V 
2003-2011 Element
2002-2004 Odyssey 
2003-2008 Pilot
2006 Ridgeline 
2003 Acura CL 
2002-2003 Acura TL
2003-2006 Acura MDX
2005 Acura RL


2004-2006 B-Series Truck
2003-2008 Mazda6 
2006-2007 Mazda Mazdaspeed6
2004-2005 MPV 
2004-2008 RX-8


2004-2006 Lancer 
2004-2006 Lancer Evolution 
2004 Lancer Sportback
2006-2009 Mitsubishi Raider 


2001-2003 Nissan Maxima 
2002-2006 Nissan Sentra 
2002-2004 Nissan Pathfinder 
2001 Infiniti I30
2003-2005 Infiniti FX35 
2003-2005 Infiniti FX45
2002-2004 Infiniti I35 
2006 Infiniti M35 
2006 Infiniti M45
2002-2003 Infiniti QX4


2003-2005 Baja
2004-2005 Impreza 
2003-2008 Legacy 
2003-2008 Outback


2003-2007 Corolla 
2003-2007 Corolla Matrix 
2004-2005 Rav4
2002-2007 Sequoia 
2003-2006 Tundra 
2002-2007 Lexus SC